Fangirl

Fangirl

Book - 2013
Average Rating:
Rate this:
109
31
21
 …
Feeling cast off when her best friend outgrows their shared love for a favorite celebrity, Cath, a dedicated fan-fiction writer, struggles to survive on her own in her first year of college while avoiding a surly roommate, bonding with a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words and worrying about her fragile father.
Publisher: New York : St. Martin's Griffin, c2013
Edition: First edition
ISBN: 9781250030955
1250030951
Branch Call Number: Teen Row
Characteristics: 438 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
b
Beezer13
Jul 15, 2019

Fangirl has such a beautiful storyline. It takes you through family issues, schooling, and relationships. It is a relatable story, yet is creates a pile of places and characters that seem out of this world. Loved it, and would recommend to anyone and everyone!

n
navdamme
Jun 25, 2019

Compelling characters, natural storyline progress and realistic depictions of anxiety: my kind of book. My only complaint is that the ending felt a little rushed and a little weak. It is still a great read though and I am excited to check out some more books by this author!

t
terryginz
May 21, 2019

Rainbow Rowell knows how to keep her fans happy and interested in her books. After reading Eleanor and Park, I expected so much from this book and again I'd say I wasn't disappointed.

SnoIsleLib_AnnaH May 14, 2019

Fangirl explores periods of transition, social anxiety at college, changing identities, fandom, and what it means to be a writer. For readers who enjoyed Dear Evan Hansen and The Upside of Unrequited.

b
blue_book_169
May 03, 2019

This book is really good! It had me hooked on so much realism in the college setting. It's definitely a teen fiction and gives you the perfect recipe of angst, romance, and reality. I must admit that sometimes it gets a little cringey but *spoiler* these parts are only towards the end. What I like the most is when Rowell adds the snippets of Cath's writing into the story. This book doesn't have a really clear story plot but it's more like a daily life kind of story. If you've ever read The Little House on the Prairie or Warriors, it's a lot like that. Concluding my review, I really like this book, from a teen perspective, because it shares a lot of things you can relate.

d
dhspanda
Mar 29, 2019

This was a beautiful, unconventional novel that will really speak to you if you feel like you’re an unconventional person (not a bad thing!) The character development is top notch, I felt like I knew them personally. It’s one of my new favorite books now.

j
jamiewritenow
Mar 06, 2019

This is shelved in YA and it's good for teens, but if you're craving some college drama and romance, definitely check this one out! Also great if you love or write fanfic.

a
Anita_Dickey
Jan 21, 2019

i read this book to fulfil the goal read a book set on a university/ college campus. it was written by the same author as elenor and park. i liked this book better. the only thing i found wrong with it is now i really want to read the simon snow series by gamma leslie and i can't seem to find out if they exist in real life. other wise, there is some strong language as well.

s
schmegu_at_hcplc
Dec 11, 2018

When I first read this book, I felt like Rainbow Rowell KNEW ME PERSONALLY. Like, listen, I love me some fanfiction just as much as the next person, but I also wrote it like it was going to save my life - and, in some ways, it did. I understood that connection, and that need to explore the "what ifs?" that weren't discussed by the author(s) themselves. In addition, my transition from High School to College was definitely a lot harder than I had expected. It made things a little more difficult than I think they would have been if I had an average transition.

Honestly, this book still holds an amazing place in my heart. If you are someone who loves your fandom, and no one else quite gets you, this is the book you NEED to read. Trust me.

k
kristenpfae
Nov 24, 2018

I found this an interesting read! It was a great book about growing up and learning to live your life. It isn't about letting go of things you love but learning to adapt them to a grown up life. Overall, I think this is a good teen book.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
c
cindyzhang1
Aug 30, 2016

“But you're so helpless sometimes. It's like watching a kitten with its head trapped in a Kleenex box.”

c
cindyzhang1
Aug 30, 2016

“Sometimes writing is running downhill, your fingers jerking behind you on the keyboard the way your legs do when they can’t quite keep up with gravity.”

c
cindyzhang1
Aug 30, 2016

“You’re never going to find a guy who’s exactly like you—first of all, because that guy never leaves his dorm room.”

c
cindyzhang1
Aug 30, 2016

“That moment," she told Cath, "when you realize that a guy's looking at you differently—that you're taking up more space in his field of vision. That moment when you know he can't see past you anymore.”

c
cindyzhang1
Aug 30, 2016

“You give away nice like it doesn't cost you anything.”

c
cindyzhang1
Aug 30, 2016

“How do you not like the Internet? That's like saying, 'I don't like things that are convenient. And easy. I don't like having access to all of mankind's recorded discoveries at my fingertips. I don't like light. And knowledge.”

c
cindyzhang1
Aug 30, 2016

“I miss you."
"That's stupid," she said. "I saw you this morning."
"It's not the time," Levi said, and she could hear that he was smiling." It's the distance.”

c
cindyzhang1
Aug 30, 2016

“I choose you over everyone.”

c
cindyzhang1
Aug 30, 2016

“Real life was something happening in her peripheral vision.”

c
cindyzhang1
Aug 30, 2016

“Happily ever after, or even just together ever after, is not cheesy,” Wren said. “It’s the noblest, like, the most courageous thing two people can shoot for.”

View All Quotes

Age

Add Age Suitability
VegasTraining Apr 17, 2018

VegasTraining thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

a
AliciaMochi
Mar 23, 2018

AliciaMochi thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 13 and 17

b
basmoyed
Jan 26, 2018

basmoyed thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

m
mausi13012003
Sep 20, 2016

mausi13012003 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 13 and 15

awebster92 Aug 22, 2016

awebster92 thinks this title is suitable for 16 years and over

d
danaefell
Jun 20, 2016

danaefell thinks this title is suitable for 12 years and over

x
xzhang17
Aug 22, 2015

xzhang17 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

MrDrProfessorPatrick Aug 01, 2015

MrDrProfessorPatrick thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 12 and 28

w
white_dog_462
Jun 29, 2015

white_dog_462 thinks this title is suitable for between the ages of 12 and 16

b
Booklover12386
Jun 17, 2015

Booklover12386 thinks this title is suitable for 13 years and over

View All Ages

Summary

Add a Summary
ArapahoeSusanW Oct 18, 2016

College transition, fandom and first love. Another winner from the author of Eleanor and Park!

c
cindyzhang1
Aug 30, 2016

Follows Cath Avery's adventures throughout college.

x
xzhang17
Aug 21, 2015

The events of the book take place during Cath Avery's freshman year at college. When it turns out her identical twin Wren does not want to room with her but meet new people, Cath is alone and without her twin's support for the first time in her life. The only consistency in her life becomes her daily posts in her lengthy and hugely popular fanfiction novel, Carry On, Simon. Between juggling a brusque roommate, her changing relationship with her sister, and her concern for her father's mental stability, Cath's college experience is a never-ending rollercoaster ride of both ups and downs that will expose strengths she never knew she had.

LibraryK8 Jun 24, 2014

In the age of tumblr, fanfiction and fanart, Cath is a relateable character for any teen who has geeked out over a book, tv show or movie. Starting her freshman year of college, Cath is facing several new obstacles. Her twin sister Wren doesn't want to room with her so “they can meet other people.” She is dealing with her father’s mental illness. And college has taken time away from completing her epic online fanfiction Carry On written in the world of Simon Snow (a character reminiscent Harry Potter). On top of it all, Cath might be falling in love with her roommate's boyfriend.

Notices

Add Notices
m
MADKC4Ever
Sep 09, 2014

Coarse Language: The "F" bomb is used, though sparingly, throughout the book.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...
PPL owns a similar edition of this title.

View originally-listed edition

Report edition-matching error

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top